Timing belt question Gates OEM or Race?

frontierguy25

Mar 26, 2007
TX
Hey guys, just wanted to get your opinion about the belts. I have run the last 40K miles on my car with the regular Gates belt. I was thinking about getting the racing belt instead this go round because it's blue and supposed to be better. When I called Gates the Sales guy couldn't tell me the exact difference.

But I will have my front cover on so I will not even be able to see it. But just wondering which I should get.

Thanks

mkiii222

Mar 31, 2005
Troy, MI
Probably the same as the Greddy. From their site:

"Engineered to increase heat-resistance, flexibility and durability, GReddy Extreme Timing Belts reduce the chances of cracking from heat, inconsistent timing from stretching and skipping or snapping. Improvements in materials and construction lead to a more reliable belt that will be more consistent and last longer."

I've been running a Greddy belt for 5 years / 60k now with no ill effects. Of course I'm almost stock power wise so don't know if it helps.

frontierguy25

Mar 26, 2007
TX
I've had 420rwhp on my car for the last 4 years with 50+ drag passes and it's in good shape. But putting my motor back in I'm going to just buy a new one.

oldsking

Mar 19, 2009
Chapel Hill, NC
I say just get a new one and if you get a good deal on the blue hey go for it, if not the run you run is fine. Good idea to replace on a new rebuild ;)

92nsx

Supramania Contributor
Sep 30, 2005
Clearwater, MN
Gates racing belt is the same belt as Greddy's belt, but $50 less bucks ;) Gates makes the them for Greddy just with Greddy's name printed on them. The gates racing belt is around $72. I rather have the good one for the piece of mind, o-ya I do have the Gates racing belt, lol/

frontierguy25

Mar 26, 2007
TX