Freeze plugs

Mob

May 17, 2005
Dayton, Ohio
ma71supraturbo said:
Get em from Toyota. The ones off the shelf for the SBC are very close but aren't quite the same -- I forget who it was that recently popped a couple freeze plugs out on the dyno...

Jim Jobe just recently did on his 5--hp pull in November. Swears by Toyota now :naughty:

IJ.

Grumpy Old Man
Mar 30, 2005
I come from a land down under
Saw it happen a bit in the old days with SBC's, a lot depends on how it's been fitted.

Way I've been doing em for many years is to clean the hole in the block and if needs be give it a light sand in a round and round motion NOT in and out.

I then grab the Permatex #4 hard setting and a socket with a short extension bar that's 1mm smaller diameter than the inside of the plug.

Now the important part is get it lined up give it a few light taps to start it then give it a few good whacks, you want to do it in 2 maybe 3 hits.

If you do many little taps it collapses the plug and you lose the crush that's meant to keep them in and of course they pop out under pressure.

malloynx

Mar 30, 2005
NC
i had my machinst shop install new plugs. they carried all the metric sizes that i needed. turned out great.

B

Boostaddctn

IJ. said:
Jeff: Not sure there but here you can buy Metric plugs off the shelf, it's just the flat one behind the timing cover that's hard to find.

Dorman or Motormite has that plug behind the timing cover, I had a hell of a time sourcing it, but was able to find it... aight peace :chicken:

But I do remember that the one behind the block was the one I had the hardest time sourcing, or was it one of the ones on the side, I can't remember, but one of em I had a hell of a time sourcing...

GrimJack

Administrator
Dec 31, 1969
Richmond, BC, Canada
idriders.com