Project Mayhem: I start my MkIII build.

iamtherhino

Nov 11, 2008
Louisville, Ky.
My objective for this project is to build a clean car that is capable of being reliably daily driven but ready to blow out any douche bag in his 5.0 Mustang that feels the need to rev on me. I just bought the 1988 MkIII below from a good friend of mine. It has been his weekend toy since he bought it brand new in 88. It is N/A with an automatic transmission and only 55,000 miles. Please feel free to make comments and suggestions throughout, I'm new to the Supra world so any input is only going to help.

I am currently planning a 5 stage build:

Stage 1- Restoration
Stage 2- Suspension upgrade
Stage 3- Braking system upgrade/wheel upgrade
Stage 4- Paint and body
Stage 5- Engine/trans build

I am currently working on Stage 1. So far I've been working on general tune up stuff and replacing some of the worn out or missing bits here and there. Hopefully, in the next few weeks I'll have all that stuff knocked out and can start saving money for Stages 2 & 3 which will probably be done at the same time. I figure it will be easier to just wait until I have all of the new suspension and braking components and do it all at once while I have it torn apart.

Attachments

• Picture 001.jpg
    Picture 001.jpg
    180.1 KB · Views: 37
  • Picture 004.jpg
    Picture 004.jpg
    250.5 KB · Views: 44
  • photo (2).jpg
    photo (2).jpg
    193.8 KB · Views: 39
  • Picture 006.jpg
    Picture 006.jpg
    215.6 KB · Views: 30
  • Picture 003.jpg
    Picture 003.jpg
    266.1 KB · Views: 29
Last edited:

Nomad707

Im From The Bay
Mar 14, 2007
Santa Rosa, California
nice car.. its in damn good shape.. i love that color too.. i got that color on my 87 turbo 5spd...

looks like a PERFECT car for a project.. awesome body/paint.. nice find.

RockPaperSwoRD

I have aCustom User Title
Jul 26, 2008
SanAntonio
becuz it is the blown Headgaskets OIL BURNIN GAS GUZZLING v6 DUHH
</sarcasm>