No power

HKS-PWR

May 23, 2007
Vancouver, BC
I bought my supra about a month ago and it ran great just until yesterday (but it was leaking oil pretty significantly if that has anything to do with it). No smoke, no weird noises, no CEL. I drove it to work (still running fine at this point), but when I was going home, the car could barely get over 1000rpm! I was literally flooring it, but it continued to accelerate slower than an automatic Corolla! The turbo still kicks in a little after 2k and it seems to help with the acceleration a bit, but it's still slow as f**k. At idle, it seems like it's going to stall, but doesn't. It gets to around 4k until the car finally shifts into the next gear. I'm not a mechanic, so I don't really know what to look for. The car also has troubles starting up also. It cranks, but takes a few to start it up (would start on the first try before). Someone please help as my username now relates to the current condition of my car! :1zhelp: Thanks and sorry for all the text, but I thought it would be best to describe it as well as I could. Stock 1990 Automatic Turbo btw.

Last edited:

zachm611

Beauty In Disguise
Apr 15, 2006
new mexico
kai is probably right, when i first got my car running it ran like garbage and idled like garbage, due to bad hack job on CPS and coil pack wires, also after i noticed i had a fuel leak i changed the injector orings and saw that my injector #6 wasnt plugged in, and my knock sensors were completely busted like someone just snapped the end off of them. after i fixed all those it seemed to run much better and got up to speed quicker. but to top it off i had BHG on the "rebuilt" engine. oh well only paid 1200 for the car not running. runs good now though, anyways good luck.

p.s. i would try and pull codes anyways even if the CEL isnt on...just to see

HKS-PWR

May 23, 2007
Vancouver, BC