New 5th gear for the R154 - how about a taller overdrive?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doward

Banned
Jan 11, 2006
Alachua, FL
Yep. I've had the prototype sitting here for about a week now. I'll be finishing up the 13" front brakes this weekend (finally!)

My original idea was to go to a T56. Then I started playing with the idea of just replacing the 5th gear.

Benefits? Well, no custom work needed - just swap the 5th gear! Lower highway rpm = better gas mileage.

*EDIT* @ 70mph ;)

Stock is a 0.753. ~2800 rpm on a stock 3.91 rear equipped Turbo model. You 3.73 guys are running around 2650 rpm.

You 4.30 guys? Damn near 3100rpm!

The 5th gear I've put together here is a 0.66 overdriven gear.

The results?

3.73s = ~2350 rpm from ~2650
3.91s= ~2450 rpm from ~2800
4.30s= ~2700 rpm from ~3100

These calcs are all on stock 225/50/16 tires. What kind of real-world difference will they make? We'll find out when I throw the fresh r154 in Jeff's Supra.

I think Jeff is liking being local to me ;)

Cons? The new 5th gear is physically smaller than stock - so naturally, it is slightly weaker. My solution to that? I'm going to cryo treat it.

And YES - I'm working on rear brakes, guys!! No plans for doing a GB just yet - I have to contact a moderator first.

Or if one wants to chime in here, that'll work too.

So what do you guys think? Any interest in a new taller 5th gear?

Last edited:

IwantMKIII

WVU MAEngineering
Jun 12, 2007
Perkasie, PA
Doward;1297140 said:
Cons? The new 5th gear is physically smaller than stock - so naturally, it is slightly weaker. My solution to that? I'm going to cryo treat it.

VERY nice :icon_bigg always depends on price of course :biglaugh: I love my 3.91 but cruising RPM's suck on the highway