I wanna take the plunge: 1jz clip for 89, what do you think

suprarell

Aug 28, 2008
HOUSTON, TX
Ok, I am very new to the form. I have owned my 89 supra (non turbo, 5 speed) for about a year, third owner 200k miles, well cared for then the inevitable: BHG. Rather than risk major repair cost, I figured I would swap for the same JDM motor. BUT thanks for all of you and your info, I was informed to the world of possibilities= 1jz. So it seem that most agree a clip is the way to go and that the pickings are getting slim. I have found one but really dont know how to judge its value or condition. Help!!

Let it be known that my desires for this motor is to be STOCK with future possibilities, reliable, have decent gas mileage (when not pedal to the metal), longevity and respectable when pushed.

I have never been in a turbo supra, old or new. However, youtube has some good videos. Any info, tips, warnings etc would be appreciated. Not looking to drift or race. Just to be dependable and hold my own on the occasional temptation by a small block. (very very rare)

Help me out. Thanks in advance and I look forward to your comments.

Oh, the clip's asking price is 2900 plus 500 shipping.

Terrell:1zhelp:

Attachments

• IMG_0808.jpg
    IMG_0808.jpg
    262.1 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_0817.jpg
    IMG_0817.jpg
    284.5 KB · Views: 39
  • IMG_1097.jpg
    IMG_1097.jpg
    319.8 KB · Views: 49
  • IMG_1099.jpg
    IMG_1099.jpg
    213.2 KB · Views: 28
  • IMG_1102.jpg
    IMG_1102.jpg
    266 KB · Views: 38
Sep 10, 2007
Virginia
the 1JZ is an excellent engine, and your supra would be a blast to drive especially compared to the 7mge.

but you may be in for a lot of work just to have a turbo if needed...

a clip is a great place to start, but there will still be a lot of other items to deal with such as the harness, r154 driveshaft, and a bunch of little stuff (throttle cable, oil pressure sender, etc)