computer careers Please read,

A

ArthurRitus

ok. im 18 years old, graduated from high school in 2006, and since then just been working part time, trying to figure out what i wanted to do with my life. At first i was going to start an electrician apprentinship, which i thought was cool because it was work+school combined. but i dont want to hate hate work/school, and i feel like i would. So i want to do something with computers, because ive always been, and always will be(technology geek i guess =\ ). Can some one please pitch some ideas, because i feel like i cant think myself, since ive never experienced the jobs, and wouldnt know about the job good enough. Also, can you please include the pay they make, and a good school would be to go to,

SupraDerk

The Backseat Flyer
Sep 17, 2005
Tallahassee
Go to college and get your bachelor's in something computer oriented. I'm basically in my last semester of Computer Engineering (well basically, I have one class in the fall and then I'm done). It's cool stuff and very interesting. You learn to build electronic circuits, power and control systems, computers and then you learn how to program them through numerous different languages. All in all it was kind of tough, but worth it.

The base pay is amazing for a kid right out of school:

Univ of Illinois website said:
Computer Engineering range: $50,000-$80,000 mean: $59,700

Computer Science range: $46,000-$82,000 mean: $60,700

http://www.engr.uiuc.edu/ecs/employers/salarystats.php

foreverpsycotic

Back in the game!
Jul 16, 2006
ATL
its quite a bit of work, but fun because you not only get to be a geek, you get to use your hands as well (depending on which area). im majoring in Information Technology and getting my A+ cert while working for the IT department at school. i love this shit

swaq

posts++;
May 24, 2005
Oregon -> Arizona
www.SwaqValley.com