Air Filters? Does it matter?

NiGMa

May 4, 2007
Australia
OK, so first up, I'm a newb. I just got my N/A rebuilt because of a BHG, and it actually wasn't a BHG that was causing the major symptom(loosing coolant) but just a loose head. anyways, I want to replce the air filter because its got the same one on their since I bought the car, which is like 5yrs x 10,000kms/yr = 50,000kms.

So I've spent the last few hours trying to research info on the main job of an air filter and which brands are good + not so good on these forums and with google. At the moment the car has a cheapo pod filter that is connected to a custom metal intake pipe.

I saw that link to the site with the comparison of the big brand name filters and the Apexi being the cleanest but I dont want to spend 250-300 AU dollars on an air filter.

So can you guys gimme some tips? Am I spending too time with this, can I just go to a store and buy another cheapo filter? I'd rather not because I wont learn anything that way.

Also, should I expect to notice any difference in performace after I install it? I dont imagine so unless there is a heap of dirt in the thing, but I dont know even know how to check that other than looking at the thing.

Thanks guys =)

RazoE

Boobs/Boost, my favorite
Jun 13, 2006
Los Angeles
www.cafepress.com
The HKS SMP filter (the green mushroom) is the only CARB legal system for the NA MKIII Supra as far as i know...

it also happens to be one of the best flowing filters out there...

of course the word "filter" is subjective here, as it doesn't really filter shit...

I should know, I have it on my N/A.......and I love it..:p

f00g00

Supramania Contributor
Jul 2, 2007
Kuwait
http://www.simota.com.au/
Im running a simota with the supra adaptor and I love it! There are a lot of sand storms here where I live and it keeps the very fine dust out even. Its also a dry filter so no oil to mess with.
The adapter is listed here
http://www.simota.com/pro_sport_02.php